Editorial Team

abhrajit
Abhrajit Gangopadhyay
Senior Editor
abhrajit.gangopadhyay@newsrise.org

Abhrajit came to NewsRise from The Wall Street Journal where he last served as its Malaysia bureau chief. He has also spent time at Dow Jones Newswires and the Economic Times. Abhrajit has widely covered India’s technology, economy and policy issues. He bears the responsibility of the macro-economic news coverage at NewsRise.
aftab_1
Aftab Ahmed
Correspondent
aftab.ahmed@newsrise.org

Aftab has experience in newswire reporting from time spent at Reuters in Bangalore. Prior to joining the NewsRise team, he was at The Financial Express in Mumbai and New Delhi. In the last six years, Aftab has covered companies, banking and money markets. He is the lead economy reporter at NewsRise and works out of New Delhi.

Ahana Sengupta
Correspondent
Ahana.Sengupta@newsrise.org

Ahana has more than two years of editing and reporting experience, a lot of which was gained chasing stories in the capital while she was at the India Today Television channel in New Delhi. Ahana is based in Kolkata and is part of the NewsRise filing team.

Asmita Dey
Correspondent
Asmita.Dey@newsrise.org

Asmita started her journalistic career with NewsRise, initially covering markets news and subsequently transitioning effortlessly to policy news reporting. Asmita covers India’s infrastructure and agriculture policy news and developments.
debasis_1
Debasis Basak
Chief Copy Editor
debasis.basak@newsrise.org

Debasis has edited financial news for more than ten years at diverse news publications like The Financial Express, Mergermarket, The Times of India and NewsRise. He is part of the early team that joined NewsRise at its inception, A key member of the editing team, Debasis helped in setting up the editing desk in Kolkata.

Dhanya Ann Thoppil
Senior India Writer
Dhanya.Thoppil@newsrise.org

Dhanya came to NewsRise from the business newspaper Mint, where she was covering Indian technology and startup companies. She was previously with the Wall Street Journal, Dow Jones Newswires and Thomson Reuters. Dhanya is responsible for covering India corporate news.
DHARAM
Dharam Dhutia
Correspondent
dharam.dhutia@newsrise.org

Dharam joined NewsRise from Cogencis where he was a part of the Money team. Dharam has also worked at The Free Press Journal, Mid-Day and the NewsX television channel in Mumbai. Dharam is part of the NewsRise Money team and is based in Mumbai.

Dipika Lalwani
Correspondent
Dipika.Lalwani@newsrise.org

Armed with more than 6 years of journalism experience in business reporting, Dipika is part of the Money news team. Based in Mumbai, Dipika covers India’s corporate debt, foreign exchange markets and banks. Prior to joining NewsRise, spent about three years at Thomson Reuters.

Gourab Das
Copy Editor
Gourab.Das@newsrise.org

Gourab cut his journalist teeth working on freelance assignments with India Today and Times of India while he was still in college. He joined NewsRise after six years of editing experience at The Financial Express and Zacks Investment Research, where he led a young team covering U.S. economic events. Gourab is based in Kolkata and is a part of the NewsRise editing team.
DSC_0509
Gurdev Singh Virk
Senior Correspondent
gurdev.virk@newsrise.org

Gurdev came to NewsRise from The Wall Street Journal & Dow Jones Newswires, where he spent more than a decade tracking markets. He is a part of the policy team at NewsRise. Gurdev is based in Mumbai.

Lopamudra Bhattacharya
Copy Editor
Lopamudra.Bhattacharya@newsrise.org

Prior to joining NewsRise, Lopamudra spent nearly eight years covering U.S. and European companies at Zacks Investment Research, Crisil Global Research & Analytics and Ospak. She is a part of the Global Corporate coverage team at NewsRise and is based in Kolkata.
MITALI
Mitali Salian
Correspondent
mitali.salian@newsrise.org

Prior to joining NewsRise, Mitali worked at Cogencis where she was a part of the FX markets team. Reporting out of the NewsRise Mumbai bureau, Mitali is part of the NewsRise Money team.
mrigank
Mrigank Dhaniwala
Senior Correspondent
mrigank.dhaniwala@newsrise.org

Once a film critic and box-office reporter, Mrigank is responsible for Money Market coverage at NewsRise. Till recently with Cogencis (formerly Newswire18), Mrigank has covered the Indian Money and Foreign Exchange markets, Bank Treasuries and the Reserve Bank Of India.

Mukesh Jagota
Assistant News Editor
Mukesh.Jagota@newsrise.org

Mukesh has been a journalist for more than 20 years. While he started out covering almost everything – from art exhibitions, book releases, sports events, politics and business- he moved exclusively to business reporting within a couple of years. Mukesh has spent more than a decade covering policy news from the Finance and Commerce Ministry.

Neha Dubey
Correspondent
Neha.Dubey@newsrise.org

Neha is part of the Money team in Mumbai. Prior to joining NewsRise, Neha was reporting on India’s equity market at Tickerplant. She has also written articles for DNA and Financial Chronicle.
pawan_1Pawan Kumar
News Editor
pawan.kumar@newsrise.org

Till recently at Zee Business, Pawan has also worked at Sahara TV and BBC Hindi TV. He has more than 17 years of experience in news reporting. This has translated into an innate sense of knowing what is news and what isn’t. Pawan oversees the policy reporting team at NewsRise out of the New Delhi bureau.

Shivangi Acharya
Correspondent
Shivangi.Acharya@newsrise.org

Shivangi is an important member of the NewsRise policy news team in New Delhi. Among other policy developments, Shivangi primarily covers policy and news developments related to the energy sector. Before becoming a part of the NewsRise team, she spent a couple of years at ET NOW, a business television channel, in Mumbai and New Delhi.
ujjwal_1
Ujjawal Narayan
Senior Correspondent
ujjwal.narayan@newsrise.org

Ujjwal has spent over a decade in business journalism and breaking news is his passion. He has worked at Zee Business, a local business television channel and the Hindi daily newspaper Dainik Jagaran. Ujjwal reports on government policy at NewsRise and is based in New Delhi.
DSC_0517Vipin Nair
Senior Editor
vipin.nair@newsrise.org

Previously with Bloomberg, Dow Jones Newswires and The Hindu, Vipin has vast experience in news reporting and editing. Vipin oversees the editing team at NewsRise, and carries the responsibility of ensuring that (in his words), “NewsRise carries absolutely flawless stuff on the wire”.