Editorial Team

abhrajit
Abhrajit Gangopadhyay
Senior Editor
abhrajit.gangopadhyay@newsrise.org

Abhrajit came to NewsRise from The Wall Street Journal where he last served as its Malaysia bureau chief. He has also spent time at Dow Jones Newswires and the Economic Times. Abhrajit has widely covered India’s technology, economy and policy issues. He bears the responsibility of the macro-economic news coverage at NewsRise.
aftab_1
Aftab Ahmed
Correspondent
aftab.ahmed@newsrise.org

Aftab has experience in newswire reporting from time spent at Reuters in Bangalore. Prior to joining the NewsRise team, he was at The Financial Express in Mumbai and New Delhi. In the last six years, Aftab has covered companies, banking and money markets. He is the lead economy reporter at NewsRise and works out of New Delhi.
debasis_1
Debasis Basak
Copy Editor
debasis.basak@newsrise.org

Debasis has more than five years of editing experience acquired at The Financial Express, Mergermarket (formerly part of the Financial Times Group, a Pearson company) and The Times of India. Debasis is based out of New Delhi and is part of the NewsRise editing team.
DHARAM
Dharam Dhutia
Correspondent
dharam.dhutia@newsrise.org

Dharam joined NewsRise from Cogencis where he was a part of the Money team. Dharam has also worked at The Free Press Journal, Mid-Day and the NewsX television channel in Mumbai. Dharam is part of the NewsRise Money team and is based in Mumbai.
DSC_0509
Gurdev Singh Virk
Senior Correspondent
gurdev.virk@newsrise.org

Gurdev came to NewsRise from The Wall Street Journal & Dow Jones Newswires, where he spent more than a decade tracking markets. He is a part of the policy team at NewsRise. Gurdev is based in Mumbai.
MITALI
Mitali Salian
Correspondent
mitali.salian@newsrise.org

Prior to joining NewsRise, Mitali worked at Cogencis where she was a part of the FX markets team. Reporting out of the NewsRise Mumbai bureau, Mitali is part of the NewsRise Money team.
mrigank
Mrigank Dhaniwala
Senior Correspondent
mrigank.dhaniwala@newsrise.org

Once a film critic and box-office reporter, Mrigank is responsible for Money Market coverage at NewsRise. Till recently with Cogencis (formerly Newswire18), Mrigank has covered the Indian Money and Foreign Exchange markets, Bank Treasuries and the Reserve Bank Of India.
parnika
Parnika Sokhi
Correspondent
parnika.sokhi@newsrise.org

Parnika worked at DNA and Business Standard prior to joining the Money team at NewsRise. She has dedicated more than 4 years to reporting on India’s banking industry, economy, debt and foreign exchange markets. She is based in Mumbai.
pawan_1Pawan Kumar
News Editor
pawan.kumar@newsrise.org

Till recently at Zee Business, Pawan has also worked at Sahara TV and BBC Hindi TV. He has more than 17 years of experience in news reporting. This has translated into an innate sense of knowing what is news and what isn’t. Pawan oversees the policy reporting team at NewsRise out of the New Delhi bureau.
suzannah
Suzannah Benjamin
Copy Editor
suzannah.benjamin@newsrise.org

Suzannah was till most recently part of Microsoft India’s corporate communications team. She also has 7 years’ experience covering U.S. equities for Reuters News. Suzannah is a key member of the NewsRise editing team and is based in New Delhi.
TRIPTI
Tripti Agarwal
Correspondent
tripti.agarwal@newsrise.org

Tripti cut her journalism teeth at The Press Trust of India, India’s oldest newswire operation. She also worked in Cogencis (formerly Newswire18) where she reported on government policy and economy. Tripti is a key member of the team that tracks news from the Ministry of Finance and the Ministry of Commerce and Industry at NewsRise. Tripti is based in the New Delhi bureau.
ujjwal_1
Ujjawal Narayan
Senior Correspondent
ujjwal.narayan@newsrise.org

Ujjwal has spent over a decade in business journalism and breaking news is his passion. He has worked at Zee Business, a local business television channel and the Hindi daily newspaper Dainik Jagaran. Ujjwal reports on government policy at NewsRise and is based in New Delhi.
DSC_0517Vipin Nair
Senior Editor
vipin.nair@newsrise.org

Previously with Bloomberg, Dow Jones Newswires and The Hindu, Vipin has vast experience in news reporting and editing. Vipin oversees the editing team at NewsRise, and carries the responsibility of ensuring that (in his words), “NewsRise carries absolutely flawless stuff on the wire”.